wild rose kale caesar and chicken vindaloo

I had an evening in the kitchen on saturday and was inspired to make one of my favourite fall meals – chicken vindaloo – along with a kale caesar and apple crisp.

i played with a classic caesar dressing recipe and modified to make it wild rose appropriate using the following:IMG_0006.JPG

1 egg yolk
¼ cup lemon juice
3 anchovy fillets
3 cloves garlic, chopped
1/2 tsp salt
1/4 tsp black pepper
2/3 cup extra-virgin olive oil

part way through dumping the olive oil in I remembered my several caesar dressed screw ups, so I slowed it to a dribble and managed to get the right viscosity. the kale came from my friends farm less than a km away and I mixed that together with some chopped apple for texture and topped with toasted rice cake “croutons.”

the vindaloo was an easy simmer which required:

IMG_0005.JPG
one medium finely chopped onion
3 cloves garlic
splash of grape seed oil
one julienned orange pepper
approximately 1 cup chopped chicken
5 tbsps Ashoka vindaloo paste
800 ml/ one large can tomato sauce

I caramelized the onions and garlic in grapeseed oil then add vindaloo paste, chicken and pepper, sautéd until chicken was cooked through, then added the majority of the tomato sauce and let simmer for 30-40 minutes. I kept the remainder of the sauce for the end and threw it in with a bit of water to thin it out.

I use grapeseed oil for frying because of its high smoke point of 195°c – it’s also a ph neutral oil. the Ashoka vindaloo paste is perfect and has just enough kick that I wouldn’t even bother making my own. I’ve used pataks as well and there’s nothing wrong with it. I also had some roast potatoes that I threw in at the last minute and used yesterday’s risotto as the rice.

the apple crisp was a blend of skin-on chopped apples, oats, bit of butter, cinny, nutmeg, roughly chopped cashews and a bit of maple syrup because I cheated.

IMG_0004.JPG
my helper

 

Leave a Reply

