detox season

fall has firmly established itself here in the northwest and in the practice of chinese medicine and ayurveda, autumn is cleanse time.  I’ve done the wild rose twice before and like it for the diet and how adaptable it is but just to keep myself on track I’m going to blog the recipes, experiments and food-findings.

since doing the wild rose the first time I’ve based my general eating habits off the foundation diet of the detox. for those who aren’t familiar, the diet is 80% or more alkalizing or neutral pH foods, with an allowance if up to 20% acid forming foods and emphasizes eating whole foods in their natural form.  it excludes flours of any kind, dairy, sugar, fermented foods – black tea, alcohol, vinegars – and anything that is a moldy or yeasty product – mushrooms and peanuts for examples.

this time around I’m seeing it as more a celebration of food and less of a deprivation.  it’s a good excuse to spend more time in the kitchen, grocery store and local markets.  i’ve already found myself reading labels more carefully and researching additives more closely… the carrageenan debate anyone?   at this time of year there is an abundance of squash, fall kale, fresh apples, chard and hearty vegetables which I’m excited to incorporate as much as I can.

i currently have a lemon-basil-ginger infusion simmering on the stove along with brown rice for a coconut, sundried tomato and spinach risotto. breakfast was two apples baked with a top coat of oats with a little bit of butter and cinnamon.

also, for the first time, I experimented with bulletproof coffee, using about 1.5 tbsps butter and my usual splash of almond milk.  I’m probably going to drink it everyday now but still, not worth the hype and over statements of the benefits of adding butter to coffee.  around the campfire last weekend, my friend, who is majoring in bio-chem, broke the theory down right to the chemical composition.  the gist of her tangent was that while you may benefit from a slower caffeine release and avoid a crash, adding healthy fats to coffee doesn’t mean it’s not coffee.

anyone who has seen me cook knows I like to stick to one pot as much as possible and that I see measurements as just a suggestion. not that I believe I’m an innovative chef worthy of a food blog but for interest’s sake here are my simple recipes of the day:

brown rice risotto:

  • steamed brown rice
  • two parts coconut milk
  • one part water
  • finely chopped onions and sundried tomato
  • garlic
  • salt pepper
  • spinach

simmer coconut milk and water with cooked rice, adding the onions, sundried tomatoes, garlic, salt and pepper slightly before desired consistency is reached. once finished, remove from heat and fold in spinach to let wilt.
fun fact: if the temperature of the rice is less than 49°c when the spinach is added it’s considered raw

breakfast apple crisp

  • 4 apples, cut in slivers
  • one cup of gluten free oats mixed with:
  • 2 tsps butter &
  • sprinkle of cinnamon

–> bake at 350 until browned on top.

next up is almond milk, kale caesars and whatever else inspires me!

Leave a Reply

