Every so often I stumble upon something amazing on the internet.  This writer’s blog is full of original vegan recipes.  Most of the meals include only a few simple, unprocessed foods and are full of nutrients.  I’m a big advocate of entrepreneurs who leave the rat-race to make it on their own.  After 6 years of post-secondary and achieving the job she wanted, the writer left the science world to open a bakery and write her food lover blog Oh She Glows.  

I’ve wondered how people can just be full-time bloggers, but with a blog that acts as a full-functioning website, I see how she does it.

These recipes I love:

My Go-to Kale Salad

kale-salad-7938_thumb

She introduces a perfect technique for kale salads where she “massages” the kale with dressing at least 15 minutes before eating, then allows it to marinate.  This softens the kale and helps the dressing to sink into the leaves.  This recipe has got me eating kale salad on a regular basis!

Anything works in this salad.  I chop up whatever veggies I have in the fridge and throw them on top.  Grated carrots, avocado, chia seeds, pumpkin seeds and sunflower seeds all all fantastic in this.  My dressing is simple and homemade.

Shot Glass Dressing:

in 1 ounce shot glass combine:

1/2 ounce favourite oil

1/2 ounce balsamic vinegar OR lemon juice

1 tsp italian spices*

*I pre-blend rosemary, thyme, oregano for mine.  & in the summer it’s all fresh from the garden

Roasted Buddha Bowl

So good for a light meal that fills you up.  It’s warm and a bit creamy but totally healthy.

buddha-bowl-2460_thumb

The author’s recipe uses roast chick peas and cauliflower for extra texture and taste.

For roasting and serving:

  • 1 head broccoli, chopped into bite-sized pieces
  • 1 head cauliflower, chopped into bite-sized pieces
  • 1.5 cups cooked chickpeas, drained and rinsed (or one 15-oz can)
  • 1 tbsp Oil, divided
  • Salt & Pepper
  • Cooked grains, for serving (optional)

For the dressing:

  • ½ cup cashews, soaked
  • 2 tbsp fresh lemon juice
  • 1 tbsp tahini
  • 1 large garlic clove
  • ¼ tsp fine grain sea salt
  • ¼ cup nutritional yeast
  • 6 tbsp water, or as needed to thin out

I roasted chickpeas for the first time the other day with curry powder, olive oil and onions.  Not having much experience with roasting I dried them out at 390° for 30 mins.  Higher temp and less time for next attempt!  I also made a curried quinoa to give this meal some protein and it turned out wonderfully.

These recipes just reminded me of the most nutritious meal I’ve ever had at a restaurant.  I was so impressed with this:

tofino surf bowl

choice of local wild salmon, marinated free run chicken or tofu w/ steamed vegetables, teriyaki sauce, basmati & wild rice, spicy yogurt, cilantro

Thanks to yelp for a picture to help me out with this post.  There was nothing unhealthy about this bowl – fresh vegetables, local chicken and salmon, gluten-free and wheat free.  Just so good.  I was going to order it with hot sauce because I usually deplore teriyaki, but their’s was light not to sweet or salty.  I’ve been meaning to replicate this at home with my own version of the recipe:

l

Prepare:

  • chicken, salmon or tofu cut into chunks, marinated in sauce
  • steamed broccoli
  • lightly steamed red pepper
  • lightly steamed celery
  • light steamed onion
  • bean sprouts
  • grated beets
  • chia seeds
  • basmati&wild rice
  • chopped fresh cilantro

Light, Homemade Teriyaki:

1/2 cup soy sauce – I use Bragg
1/4 cup water
2 tablespoons sweet rice wine
1 tablespoon, plus 2 teaspoons brown sugar
1/4 cup sugar
1 1/2 teaspoons minced garlic
1 1/2 teaspoons minced ginger

Leave a Reply

