Book Club

 

wheatbelly_nyt

For me, clean eating regimes are always inspired by something I’ve read.  I find the easy part of any new diet the beginning, when there are new recipes to try – I usually splurge on a beautiful new cookbook full of photos to inspire a new way of cooking.  And when the horrors of meat, dairy, gluten, wheat and processed foods are kept in mind. [I just looked for a synonym for “fresh in mind” – a term I would consider cliché, and I refuse to use clichés.  I would say prominent or eminent but I feel like those words have different meanings to different people.  Language is complex.

I’ve learned that constant reading is the only way I can keep in control of my diet.  I don’t think anything of consuming something outside of my diet if it’s “just this time”.  The problem with that is “just this time” starts to happen everyday and before I know it I’m back to the same eating habits as before.

A few gems are Wheat Belly, Skinny Bitch and Habit.  As with any persuasive non-fiction, Wheat Belly is controversial in the way the author has skewed the data to support his point.  However, the majority of the facts presented are accurate and the book is well worth the read for a new perspective on what a healthy diet is.  Wheat Belly, Wheat BERRY!  explains the conflicting points better than I can.

UnknownSkinny Bitch is one that I go back to often, and re-read once a year.  It advocates a vegan diet, also also addressing animal cruelty and American factory farming as well as the benefits of avoiding alcohol, caffeine, refined sugar and chemical sweeteners.  The author wrote with attitude but with many citations throughout, it is well-researcched and factual without being dry.  The first time I was reading this, I brought it with me to the gym and spent 3 hours on the bike reading it.  When I finished, I went directly to the book store to get their cookbook Skinny Bitch in the Kitch.  Definitely wouldn’t recommend it.  It’s all about making faux cheese, using processed, pre-made vegetarian versions of meat, and trying to imitate a regular diet while being vegan.  I’d rather just eat quinoa and vegetables thanks.  But I still recommend Skinny Bitch, looove Skinny Bitch.

The Power of Habit


Lastly, The Power of Habit, though not a diet book, reinforces the idea that repetition of positive behaviours create lasting habits.  The author explains how a healthy family can gradually start consuming fast food regularly, as often as every day, without thinking about it.  He explains how the same applies to people who naturally reach for an apple instead of a chocolate, and who make a salad for lunch instead of a sandwich.  Many other examples he uses throughout the book can be applied in different ways, and this book changed the way I saw doing things, from housework to running.

 

 

Leave a Reply

