sanguine

why sanguine…

i needed a writing project to keep me in the flow of it, so I’ve gone back to my old “photography” blog.  i aimed for consistency in my posts but there’s not enough of one particular subject that i am interested in writing on.  so behold, my random blog of a day to day life on the west coast.

without knowing what it meant, i loved the sound and the look of the word.  to me it is nautical, organic and of the ocean.  there’s a certain feel to the word that, for me, ties to life on the west coast of canada; hence my title.

the real meaning of the uncommon word is below…

san·guine

[sang-gwin]  

1.  cheerfully optimistic hopeful, or confident: a sanguine dsposition; sanguine expectations.
2.  reddish; ruddy: a sanguine complexion.
3.  (in old physiology) having blood as the predominating humor and consequently being ruddy-faced, cheerful, etc.
4. bloody; sanguinary.
5.  blood-red; red.
Leave a Reply

