food

I’ve been thinking of starting up my blog again.. this time not with photography as I am resigned to the couch, as I just had knee surgery.  With my healing process I have been focusing on eating as healthfully as possible to help my body recover from the invasive surgery.

With out being able to exercise, my new focus is on detoxifying foods and cleanses.

This evening I am starting a 36 hour cleanse from Saturday evening to Monday morning.  It is important to have a fibrous meal before a cleanse and my pre-fasting meal will be:

broccoli with quinoa:

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 cups quinoa (see headnote; no need to rinse)
  • 1 1/2 pounds broccoli
  • 4 tbsp lemon juice
  • 1/2 cup chopped onions
  • 5 tablespoons olive oil (may use the oil from the sun-dried tomatoes)
  • 3/4 teaspoon salt, or to taste

My cleanse will help to kickstart my improved diet which will have a high focus on new recipes including lots of healthy greens.

I am currently re-reading Skinny Bitch by Rory Freedman and Kim Barnouin.  It is the most inspiring diet book I have ever read because its health-conscious and mainly focused on the pros of healthy eating.

I also have Skinny Bitch in the Kitch packed with healthy vegan recipes to create homestyle comfort food so I never feel like I’m missing out on cold rainy afternoons.

off to cook – xoxx

Leave a Reply

